beware of trainers who tell of a "specialized methodology"

2003-12-02

So freaking busy.

But I should mention that I went to Olivia's second birthday party on Sunday. It was the only two year old birthday party I've ever been to with caviar. I took lots of pictures, maybe I'll get around to posting them someday.

Oh, and I was sure that I forgot to send someone an invite who received a save the date card. It's true, I did. I actually feel much, much better now that I have discovered it. We are completely out of invites now. I don't even have one to save for myself. We have also decided that, if we don't hear one way or another from people, then we won't reserve a spot for them. I don't have time to follow up with the 100 people who did not respond. Most of them are people from either Leo's firm or his dad's. Leo's grandfather hasn't responded yet, so I'll probably follow up with him. Saturday is the deadline.

I've been stuck in Six Sigma training all week. Six Sigma is a "methodology" by which large companies can make big projects take at least triple the time to complete. It also requires an unbelievable amount of paperwork and, today, we learned a mathematical formula to determine information that we already knew. For example, we entered data into the statistical voodoo machine about what factors effect the length a ball is thrown by our in-class catapult (have I mentioned that we have not one, but two in-class catapults?). Instead of just looking at our data to determine this, we used a big honking piece of math to come up with the answer.

Even worse, ever morning the instructors put giant piles of candy on each of our desks. And we have to complete games that have nothing to do with what we are learning. Like today we had a car word scramble. It's like some kind of horrible summer camp.

What really annoys me is that the top management thinks that it will cure our every woe. I'm sure it's quite helpful in manufacturing situations, but it doesn't make a whole lot of sense in a managerial environment.

I really could go on forever about the inanity of Six Sigma, but I have to get back to work.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook