mysterious red dot

2003-11-26

oh. �my. �GOD!
I just walked into the bathroom and saw a big red dot on the end of my nose!� It's not a pimple, it's more like those red dot stickers that they use to use on acne commercials.� Why am I not the kind of person to carry makeup in my purse?� WHY????
I nearly had a nervous breakdown yesterday.� I am so stressed out over work.� I don't have a clear understanding of when I have to get everything done, and I have no idea how to do it.� I'm so glad that this will be a holiday weekend.� I don't even want to think about work anymore (unfortunate, as I still have a full 8 hours ahead of me).�
Instead, here is what I will focus on:

Fennel and Cranberry-Apple Salad

Slowly Saut�ed Carrots and Turnips

Green Beans with Orange and Rosemary Gremolata

Potatoes Mousseline

Scalloped Oysters

Nancy Reagan�s Monkey Bread

Leek, Mushroom and Bacon Stuffing with Tarragon�

Roast Turkey with Bacon, Tarragon and�Calvados Gravy

Cranberry-Ginger Chutney

Vanilla Bean Cheesecake with Cranberry Jewel Topping

Even that has already been tumultuous.� My turkey has been protested!� My mother, who picked up the turkey, told me that a group of militant vegetarians, complete with news crews were staging a protest outside the farm.� You would think that they might be objecting to the treatment of the animals in an industrial farm.� But no, they were protesting "the�consumption of turkey" at a ma & pa small-scale organic turkey farm.� The turkeys there have happier lives than most people; they run around�outside all day, eat grass, and are never exposed to artificial light.� I think that's hilarious as I am kept in my veal fattening pen under a fluorescent light for eight hours a day.� Of course, no one is going to lop off my head and serve me with a bacon, tarragon and calvados gravy, but then again, I'm not a turkey!� Maybe the vegetarians were just�jealous that they too could not frolic and graze in the turkey pastures.�

Leo had a work get together last night in order to entice some other lawyer to join their merry band.� I managed to over come my urge to pull the wife aside and say "the firm encourages women to work".� I also managed to over come my urge to scream "It's a miracle!" in the airport last week, when a lady got up out of a wheelchair and sat on a waiting bench.�

23 days to go.� I do hope this mysterious red nose dot disappears before then.�

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook