a rottweiler with a tulle collar

2003-08-06

I read this article entitled "How the Perception of Variety Influences Consumption" and I think it is excellent.  It also explains why, when faced with a large platter of canap�s, I eat everything in sight.


My boss found out about the possible new job/promotion.  I was pretty sure that would happen, seeing as it was his boss that suggested it in the first place.  But I was kind of hoping that it would take another week or so, seeing as my boss' father just died and I thought he would be out longer. 

I was telling my boss about a meeting I'd just had, where they want to launch one of my systems in Europe and how it would require lots of changes (if you think automotive cost estimators are fun, then you'll LOVE German automotive cost estimators).  His response was to usher me into a conference room (you basically need to be on the board of directors to have your own office here) and let me know about how I should start transitioning my work to other people.  I told him that there was a very real chance that I would not get the job, but he didn't want to here it. 

My boss is psycho.  He is manipulative like a 13 year old girl (in fact, it wouldn't shock me to find out that he has slam lists).  I have months and months of psychological torture awaiting me if I don't get this job. 


When I went to the wedding florist, she recommended that I rent a big metal mail box, covered in satin.  This is to be used for cards.  It also had a huge lock on it.  My first thought was how stupid the lock was, it's not like any of your guests are going to make off with the cards.  But I guess that happens more often then you might expect.  Not so much the guests, but the people who work at the reception hall.  At the Detroit wedding chat board that I frequent (yes, I am that big of a dork), there are lots and lots of posts about the caterers, waiters, etc. making off with checks.  Because the checks are often addresses to "Mr. and Mrs. Soandso", it's easy for the person cashing them to say that they just got married and haven't yet changed their name.  People were even recommending that the bride-to-be put bricks in the bottom to make it harder to carry off.  They also recommended that a friend be asked to watch the gift table, and make sure the gift table isn't near the door.

And I had no idea that this crime even existed!

Still, I definitely will not be having a satin covered lock mailbox at my reception.  Maybe I can get a rottweiler with a tulle collar.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook