la familia

2003-05-07

My father finally returned my call last night.

Him: So, when is the big day?

Me: December 20.

Him: Oh, your step-monster has to work on that day.  We won't be able to come.

So I guess it's admirable that he knows his wife's work schedule off the top of his head.  I do find it a bit strange that she will be working the Saturday before Christmas...

He said this works out better anyway as Leo's father (and Leo) may have clients there and he wanted to make sure there "wasn't a scene".  This may be his way of acknowledging that his wife is totally wack-o and not to be trusted either in public or private.  Or maybe it was a slight at my mom.  Hard to tell.

I was relived after the call that I wouldn't have to deal with her craziness, but then I realized that I would, at least a little.  Keep in mind that she is the person who threw a hissy fit recently because I didn't send her a birthday card four years ago.  Do I send them an invitation?  If I don't, they will be insulted that I didn't invite them.  If I do, they will see it as a request for a present and get upset.  Luckily, their insane anger takes about four years to fester and build so it will be a while before I have to deal with the consequences.


W (not to be confused with Mrs. W) is not doing well. 

Ten years ago, she and I were in the exact same spot.  We were both working full time and going to college when we could fit it in.  Because we were surrounded with regular college students (the kind that don't have full time jobs) we formed an instant bond.  We worked at the same store.  We eventually became roommates and moved to Chicago together.  And we both married drug addicts. 

Eight months into the marriage, I saw the light and split (praise be).  She has stuck it out for four years.  And she has a toddler.  And she has a chronic disease that causes her constant pain.  And she has no money.  And she never graduated.  And her husband is stealing her pills so she has to go without.   She is in a really bad spot right now. 

I am struck with how similar our life circumstances were at one point and how different they are now.  In three days, I will have a master's degree, she may never get a bachelor's.  I have a wonderful, responsible, non-drug addicted husband-to-be.  I have a great house, a job, wonderful friends, and a loving and supportive family.  I am really lucky.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook