Y las noticias grandes son....

2003-05-06

As you may or may not have guessed by now we have set a date.  For the wedding.  Our wedding.  To each other.  and that date is....drum roll please...

December 20!

Yes, yes, yes, I can read your thoughts now.  But cholderby, you say, aren't there already enough things going on at the end of December?  Don't you think that Christmas, New Year's, your birthday and your sister's birthday in a two week period is enough without jamming a wedding in there?  Don't you think that people will be out of town or busy on that day? 

My answer to you is yes, to all of the questions.  As Leo likes to say, I am insane like a fox.  The wedding is that day so we can take a honeymoon.  I am out of vacation days this year, but the auto industry thoughtfully provides it's employees with two weeks off over Christmas (in an attempt to make amends for the auto industry sucking so much).  Plus, if some people didn't show up (not you, dear) than that is one less crappy foodservice entree I have to purchase. 


I started community college last night: Spanish 101.  I was not, as I expected, the oldest person there.  The class was mostly 18 year olds, though.  Also there were a lot of people who took years of Spanish in high school.  There was even a guy from Spain.  And here I thought I was going to have it easy with my background in French.

Last night really cemented something I have suspected for some time: the more one goes on in school, the easier it is.  I remember when I started grad school; I thought it was going to be so much harder than undergrad.  It wasn't.  Now that I am back in community college, I have to deal with things like attendance, homework (I even have a workbook), quizzes, etc.  I registered for the class knowing that I would miss the final.  I've done that in grad school before and the professors adapt.  But this guy freaked out (he later came around to my way of thinking, though).

It was also kind of strange thinking about how, if the professor didn't let me take the final at some other time, that it really wouldn't matter.  True, my company will only reimburse me if I get a letter grade.  But what if I was out the $200 fee for the class?  Life would go on.  It's not like my classes at U of D that cost $2100 a piece.  "I don't need you stupid grades, Senior Sombrero!"

   

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook