an American commencement

2003-05-03

I picked up my cap & gown today.  This is some of what the package had to say:

Graduation is an American tradition.  Congratulations!  Your cap & gown were made in the USA - another American tradition.

Not really quite sure about that "Graduation is an American tradition part".  While I don't really know (or care to know) about it's origins, academic regalia has been worn in Europe for at least the last 800 or so years.  It might be more true to say that dropping out is an American tradition.

In big, bolded letters:

Note:  it is extremely dangerous to throw this cap.  Any damage or injuries caused by the misuse will be the responsibility of the person(s) who performed such action.

I would say that placing legal disclaimers on every possible item is an American tradition.

Because of its material, your cap and gown should not be washed, dry cleaned or worn in inclement weather.

Hands up, everyone who predicts rain on Saturday  which will cause my extremely cheap gown to melt and fuse onto my skin!

The instruction I was actually looking for is how to wear the hood.  It didn't say.

 

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook