meetings, meetings, and more meetings

2003-05-01

Oy vey. The past two days has been nothing but meetings, one after the other. The good thing about that is that I don't have to do real work if I am sitting in a meeting. Plus, I am going to an IT dorkfest at Cobo hall all day tomorrow. I get to have lunch with Leo. We might even car pool. Oh, the excitement!

Yesterday I went to a big meeting (at a hotel ballroom, no less) that was a "here's the status of our company" sort of meeting. Before this job, I always worked for small businesses. I sometimes forget how huge my current employer is. It's kind of weird. There were 600 people in yesterday's meeting. 600 out of a total of 120,000. Strange feeling.

I got a raise yesterday. And I am asking for a promotion today. My boss is throwing me a graduation party. In the almost four years I have worked here, he has never organized a party. Strange, strange, strange. He invited 60 people.

Also, I keep having deja vu.

In the good news category, I weigh 15 pounds less than I did a year ago (or six months ago). I wore a pair of pants yesterday that I haven't worn in a long, long time. I'm even tucking my shirt in. It's a good feeling.

I am already going nuts being out of school. Luckily, I start Spanish 1 at a community college on Monday. I'm sure I will be the oldest student and all of the 18 year olds will hate me. The last time I was on that campus, a couple of teenagers were walking in front of me and talking about smoking pot. They obviously thought they were scandalous. I wanted to shout out "Teenage community college students smoke pot? Heavens to Murgatroid, that is unfathomable!". But I didn't.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook