the terracotta army of cuteness

2003-03-24

I just now came to the realization that, even though I get to work at 8 am, I really don't wake up until 10 or so. I've already been to two meetings. I couldn't tell you what they were about.

Leo and I bought torches for our deck. I am very excited about them. They kick serious deck accessory ass.

Leo cleared all of the dead leaves from the flower beds in our yard. By doing so, he uncovered thousands of examples of the world's ugliest garden statues ever. We have found at least three bunnies in pink sweaters. It's like we've unearthed the terracotta army of cuteness.

The torches were purchased in anticipation of my graduation party. The theme of my graduation party was chosen as a direct result of my fasting for lent. I started out by "going vegetarian" but only made it for a week and a half. Now I am eating seafood. While I still think that vegetarianism is dumb, I do have greater respect for the people who have the willpower to eat like that all of the time.

The theme, btw, is Argentinean barbeque. You see, in Argentina, beef is a big deal. A typical meal may consist of matambre (it means "kill hunger") which is a big steak roll with carrot and spinach and some beef empanadas. Then the main course is steak, accompanied by ribs and sausage. Even with all of my cookbooks, I can't seem to find a single Argentinean starch recipe. All of this sounds good to me now, but it may be a bit too Atkins for even me. I may have to reach out across South America for the rest. We shall see.

The glow stick margarita glasses came in on Saturday. Let the good times roll.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook