all hail the dishwasher!

2003-01-17

There is so much left to do!

Somehow, my apartment has completely broken the law of conservation of mass. All of my stuff fit in there before. The boxes fit in there. So why is it that I can barely move now that most of my stuff is in the boxes? Seriously, the only space left is a small pocket of air above my bed, the rest is solid cardboard. The worst part is, I'm not done packing!

When I started this whole operation, I was so organized. Items were placed into boxes based on their final destination. Now I am just packing things up all willy-nilly. At least I am still labeling the boxes. Of course, this also documents my insanity: "Leo, do you see the charcoal, socks and sewing machine box near you?".

I know I've said it before, but I really can't overstate how much I am looking forward to having a dishwasher and in-home laundry facilities. There's something about having a full time job, going to night school and having to be a 19th century housewife all at the same time, that I find quite tiring. I got a little giddy when I purchased dishwashing soap for the first time. I overcame the very strong urge to share with the other women in the aisle that this was my first dishwasher related purchase. I've put that, plus the laundry stuff, in the back of my car so I can begin my automated cleansing celebrations immediately upon taking possession of the house.

I just know you're dying to know some dishwasher fun facts:

  • There's relief in sight for dish-pan hands in 1850, when Joel Houghton patents a wooden machine with a hand-turned wheel that splashes water on dishes.
  • At the 1893 World's Fair, Josephine Cochrane unveils a hand-operated mechanical dishwasher she built for her own use. The revolutionary appliance is such a hit, she founded a company to manufacture it. It became KitchenAid.
  • Dishwashing becomes more stable in 1920 when the first freestanding dishwasher with permanent plumbing is introduced. In 1935, portable dishwashers enter the marketplace.
  • Water spots are no longer a problem after 1940 when the first fully-automatic dishwasher with heated drying debuts.
  • In 1969, built-in dishwashers hit the market. They became permanent fixtures in households everywhere.
  • Silence is golden in 1985 when dishwashers with quiet operation become available.
  • With concerns for the environment growing, air-dry option becomes a standard energy-savings feature in 1988.

There, now weren't those facts fun?

BTW, the phone number I gave out might be wrong. I called it this morning out of curiosity. Someone answered. This means that A) Ameritech switched the service over early and the current owner answered or B) that isn't my phone number. We shall see.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook