house love triangle

2002-12-06

I have been unusually unproductive today. My mind keeps wandering back to our house search. First, I fell in love with the African Liberace house. Now I am in love with a totally normal colonial. The African Liberace people have now reconsidered our offer and they say that they will accept it. So, I'm caught in a house love-triangle.

The African Liberace house is on a beautiful lot. It borders a city-owned ravine with a river that has been designated as wetland, so it can never be developed. The view from the desk, dining area and kitchen are breath-taking. The house has five bedrooms, which is silly for the two of us, but if we each get an office...well, we'll be able to fill it. The lower level bar sits 7. The house is meant for parties.

On the other hand, The AL house has gold metallic vertical blinds in each and every room, a 1970's kitchen, mirrored closets, and white carpeting throughout. I could live with the kitchen, and maybe even the closets, but the blinds would have to go immediately.

The totally normal colonial is in a less woodsy area. It was built in 1994, and it feels much more updated. It has hard wood floors and neutral carpets, a fireplace and vaulted ceilings. The master bedroom is huge, with a very large attached bath and lots of closet space. Possibly the most appealing thing, it looks like a normal family could live there.

There is less living space in the colonial, plus there is a gigantic phone tower not too far away. The neighborhood is not as nice either.

Hopefully, Gibson will have a strong opinion either way. I am normally quite decisive, so it's really getting to me that I can't make a decision on a choice as important as a house. I really just want to pick one and get on with the next step. Because, once we pick one...

...then I'll live with a dishwasher (what luxury) and my very own washer and dryer!

    Plus, it's less than a week until Shannon comes home!

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook