I found the lost tribes of Isreal

2002-05-23

"She's Jewish, dammit, not Indian!"

I've said that phrase several times in the last couple of days. First time, we were discussing someone named "Sheila". To almost anyone not born on the subcontinent, "Sheila" is a generically European, possibly Jewish name. My coworkers, however, all believed that "Sheila" is solely an Indian name.

The name "Sheila", to me, brings up images of an overly tanned 40-year old with a 20-year old hairstyle who wears a lot of gold chains and smokes menthol cigarettes. I can't imagine an Indian "Sheila". Indian women, for the most part, do not smoke. They tend to not have feathered hair. I just can't reconcile my mental picture of "Sheila" with an Indian woman.

The great Sheila debate, I believed, was an anomaly. Then came the news that Chandra Levey's body was found�and my coworkers thought she was Indian.

"She's Jewish, dammit, not Indian!"

"But Chandra means "heart" in my language. It's a common Indian name"

So maybe we're on to something here. I have yet to meet and Indian Jacob or Ishmael or any other man with an Indian/Jewish name, but maybe they exist.

Or, maybe one of the lost tribes of Israel settled in India, and just had a whole lotta daughters.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook