What earthly good can come of it?

2002-05-24

What's up with poetry?

There are times in my life, when I get emotional and I want a total stranger to articulate my feelings in a beautifully metered and possibly rhyming manner. So I look for poetry on that subject and what do I get?

I get a huge community of 14 year old girls with overly large vocabularies. I find sappy themes with predictable rhymes on websites with pink or lavender backgrounds. Why is  95% of all poetry horrible?

I would guess it is because it is deceptively simple to write.  I remember being forced to write poetry in school.  No one ever made me write a novel, or a song, but poetry is somehow viewed as attainable.  I guess painting falls into the same problem, but that's another subject.

So here's a beautifully metered and rhyming summation of  my feelings:

 

General Review of the Sex Situation

Woman wants monogamy;

Man delights in novelty.

Love is woman's moon and sun;

Man has other forms of fun.

Woman lives but in her lord;

Count to ten, and man is bored.

With this the gist and sum of it,

What earthly good can come of it?

 

                                        - Dorothy Parker

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook