kiss my pashmina

2003-06-03

There is just nothing as reassuring as comparing yourself to others who are far more neurotic.  I inadvertently visited a wedding message board today.   There were posts there from people who were seriously flummoxed over whether or not they should wear open toed shoes with their wedding dress.  Now, I hope there are actually thinking of some sort of strappy sandal, not actually a 1980's style pump with the front most part removed.  But still...who cares?  Unless you are wearing a tea length wedding gown, no one will ever see them!  And if you are wearing a tea length gown, then you already have balls enough not to be asking the question.

There was also a woman who wondered if all of the groomsmen need to change their white shirts to ivory because she decided to go with an ivory dress.  It never, ever, ever occurred to me that anyone would match the guy's shirts to the bride's dress.  What is this, the Partridge Family?

I decided to deposit my own little bit of neurosis on the board.  Because the wedding is in late December, and because this is Michigan...I will need to wear a coat to go between the ceremony and reception.  I just found out today that the wedding industry actually makes wedding coats (yes, they make coats but not dresses with sleeves).  Obviously, I am not going to buy one of these.  But it got me thinking.  What if I could rent some sort of Dr. Zhivago type white fur coat?  This could be the only time in my life that I might wear a fur coat.  Obviously, I would need a big fur hat to go with it.  If I did that, it would be worth photographing.  Hell, I might just wear it to the reception and look like the abominable bride. 

So...I posted my little musing on the message board.  And what was the response? 

    You should buy a pashmina!

My evil, snobby gut response was "that's soooo 2001".  After that thought left, I thought about it and what it comes down to is that "pashmina" is really just a stupid name for a scarf.  And no woman should ever go out in fifteen degree weather with a scarf wrapped around her shoulders.   Why were those ever popular?  Do they have a purpose?

So, I answered my own question.  I plan on buying a pink satin jacket and I'll have "Christine & Leo 2003!" embroidered on the back.  And I'll be warm.  And maybe I'll even start a trend of my own.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook