Sure, there's raw sewage in my office
but - damn! - my lipstick looks good.

2002-11-13

I snickered when I walked past the men's bathrooms this morning. Because 90% of all of the employees are men and the bathrooms are evenly divided between male and female, the men's room has it's share of problems and is frequently out of order. So I was very disappointed after I walked ten feet past the men's to find that the women's room is also out of order. I really wanted to have a cup of tea, but there was no way that I was going to make hourly runs to the women's room in the next building.

It turns out that the city sewer backed up into the building, specifically into the server room. They thought it was water at first, you can imagine the reaction of the guy who discovered the true cause. They just don't teach you server maintenance in raw sewage at school. We have been assured that the employee health plan covers cholera, so we have to stay put for now. My only consolation is that I am on the second floor.

On a completely unrelated note, I am completely enamored with my new lip gloss. It gives my lips that "I just drooled on myself" sexiness that is all the rage. The only bad thing about it is that it has to be applied with my finger. I no longer have a box of kleenex in my car, so I have been trying to just rub it into my hand (I know that's gross, but I'm doing the best I can). So I have been walking around with a glossy stripe of taupe on my hand for the last couple of days. Seeing as the office is swimming in raw sewage, I doubt anyone will notice.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook