it just keeps going on and on and on...

2002-11-15

I've had the kind of week that really wears you down.

Between working, going to night school, looking for a house and getting a mortgage, and all of the usual stuff like cooking, cleaning and doing laundry, I'm beat. It felt like I did not get a minute to myself all week. Leo attempted to comfort me by saying "get used to it, it will only get worse". This reflects his attitude towards life in general (not mine specifically) so it's not as horrible as it may sound. Anyway, it didn't help that I was being stalked by an old lady.

I have a double-wide cube. I justified this because I have to have four PCs of varying operating systems and purposes. Obviously, I can't fit into a cube with four computers, so I have to have the "IT pretty princess I-get-everything-I-want double-wide cube". I have two phones because of this. My regular phone, which has a pink Time-Life operator headset to allow for computing and talking at the same time, and the extra phone at the end of my cube. For some reason, this company is really stingy on the phones (in fact, my department had to buy our own at over $300 a piece). So the extra phone is very, very cheap and it sounds like a dying robot goose when it rings.

The phone number is not published, and no one ever calls that extension. At least that was the case until recently. For the past four days, an older woman has been calling every half an hour. I suspect that she is in Detroit and she is not being successful in making a long distance call. She wants to get to the area code that is the same as the first three digits of my number. I want to help her, but I can't get up the nerve to ask her if she is dialing a "one" first. So I did the mature thing and took it off of the hook. My coworkers keep coming through and hanging the phone up. So she calls again. Does the fact that I don't want to take the chance of insulting her yet possibly helping her make me a bad person? I suspect that she is at least a little nuts as I always answer that phone by clearly stating the name of my company and every time she responds by asking me if it is a different company.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook