you could almost hear my brain crumble

2003-08-19

I'm about to send out the save-the-date cards...

And then I realize that I need to put some sort of return address on them.  Leo's grandparents don't know (and couldn't handle) that we are living together.  I have return address labels that just have his last name and the address, but those got vetoed by my mom.  There was NO WAY that I was going to hand write the return address on 300 envelopes, so I just printed some.  This idea was poopooed universally, but I already stuck them on, so that's it.

And then I realized that I need to buy stamps.  Easy enough, right?  Wrong!  In wedding-land, the most minor details are of extreme importance, and everything must be done in the most ass-backwards way.  I needed special "love" stamps (the future of our marriage depends on it, according to my coworkers).  Fine.  So I take a gander at the love stamp that our government is offering.  It's some sort of multi-colored hippy free-love stamp, and it ain't going on my cards.  So I look around at the others available...

There's the Korean War stamp, no that's not the right "message"...

There's the Louisiana Purchase stampor the commemorative Ohio stamp...

There's a collection of stamps of holidays I don't celebrate (Kwanzaa, Hanukah, Eid) and there's a bunch of dead people stamps (Audrey Hepburn, Irving Berlin, Cary Grant).  There's stamps urging folks to get their dogs and cats spayed or neutered (not a wedding message).   Or, my favorite, the "American Bats collection.

So, this is it.  I can take no more.  This is the wedding issue that has broken my back.  I'm done.  Please don't make me decide some other inane detail that matters to people way more than it should.  Because I am done.

 

If this tirade seems, um, tired, it's because I really did crack over lunch and I launched into a passionate speech about how weddings are a detriment to the continuation of the human race aimed at anyone who would listen.  It was rather loud.  And now I'm done.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook