I care about the important things

2002-11-06

What the heck was the NY Times thinking?

This recipe made me angry!� Welsh Rarebit is one of my absolute most favorite things in the world.� And they added heavy cream?� The heavy cream you can buy nowadays is ultra-pasteurized, which gives it a weird, chemical taste.� What were they thinking?� Tomatoes?� Watercress?� What is this - a salad?

Granted, this recipe is from a cook book, but I have a feeling that the cook book must contain other, less offensive recipes. I feel it is my duty to protect my much maligned ethnic culinary heritage.

Here's how welsh rarebit should be:

6 slices of white bread, toasted
1 egg
1 teaspoon of mustard powder
1/2 cup beer
1/4 cup butter
dash of Worcestershire sauce (optional)
3 cups of the best quality sharp cheddar money can buy (which, coincidentally, may be purchased through me), freshly grated.� Do not, under any circumstances bother to make this with a bag of supermarket pre-shredded cheddar.� And, this is for you Leo, don't bother to even think about using your pansy reduced fat cheese.� Go eat a salad or something instead.

Melt butter and cheese in a sauce pan over low heat.� Remove from heat and add mustard powder, Worcestershire sauce, and beer.� Quickly stir in egg, making sure the cheese mixture is not hot enough to cook it.� Spread/pour on top of toasted bread being careful to cover all of the edges.� Broil until bubbly and browned.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook