Frank Murphy Hall of Justice
Hotdog Capital of the Midwest

2002-10-02

Well, jury duty has come and gone. I was really looking forward to it as I have never lived in the same spot for long enough for it to come up. I had some trouble finding the building as the map I was given by jury services was cryptic at best and misinformation at worst. I had parked a convenient 27 blocks away as I would have had an aneurism if I had to deal with another one way street. The woman in front of me was rejected at security because her bag was too large. I had packed two magazines and two books to read and was prepared to fight to the death to get them inside. They have airport style screening machines for the jurors to go through but the lawyers and police aren't required to use them. My bag was admitted which was good as there was no way I could have walked back to my car, dropped it off, and come back.

I was called right away. There were about 500 prospective jurors. The lady who read off the names had no problem with the Eastern European names that would have stumped me. It was my English name that finally got her. "Holderberry, er um, Holderberr, or Holderburg�". The next 4 hours were a blur of sitting, standing, reading and waiting. There was a very fat man sitting/standing next to me that smelled like cat pee. Then he left and I could still smell it so I wondered if I smelled like cat pee. Then I decided that it was pretty unlikely that I would smell like cat pee because I don't own a cat (boredom induced crazy thoughts like this continued).

We were given all of fifteen minutes for lunch due to all sorts of court-related confusion. I had a choice of three eating establishments: the hot dog store in the building, the hot dog cart across the street on the right, and the hot dog cart across the street on the left. To avoid having to go through security again, I chose the indoor option. The store was all of 8' x 8' and the line spiraled out from the candy aisle. After waiting what seemed like 2 years, I got up front. Then a woman shoved a hotdog over my should and demanded a refund as the hotdog "tasted like crap". She went on to say that she used to work at a movie theater and knows what old hotdogs tastes like. She got her refund. I changed my order to a polish sausage as that is what the people in line in front of me ordered. It was disgusting.

I spent the next several hours reading a book about the history of theoretical mathematics. Buying this book in the first place must have happened like how you might go to the grocery store on a full stomach and buy only health food. Oh well. I ended up falling asleep under the fire extinguisher. They realized us around 3. I met up with Gibson and had a much deserved Bloody Mary.

In my networks class later that evening, the professor was taking role just to establish who had dropped out and who was still in the class. When he got to my name, he called out "Holderbean? Holderbean?". I responded and he exclaimed "you must like beans a whole lot!" and doubled over in laughter.

I can only think that the entire world must be dyslexic, if only when reading my name.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook