the 120-hour single parent marathon

2005-10-19

Leo is leaving tomorrow for a five day golf trip.  I was being super melodramatic about it yesterday (well, as melodramatic as one can be by herself) but I think I'm a bit more balanced now.  My days have been pretty solitary anyhow lately and I am a little worried that, without Leo here, I might go nuts.  Owen has just been so darn crabby lately; by the end of the day (and, by 'the end of the day', I'm talking about 6 pm) I just want to pass out.  

I had thought that I might finally get around to using the No Cry Sleep Solution while Leo was gone, but both library copies were checked out.  Owen gets up about 6 times per night.  I've read it before, but it just seemed like too much bother then.  I do know that at least a third of the time when I think he's up, he's just yelling/crying in his sleep.  But what can I do?  I can't just leave him crying/yelling, if for no other reason then Leo and I can't sleep.  And I don't think there's a way to get him to calm down without waking him.  I've tried having him sleep in his room.  I ended up passing out on the twin bed in there every time I fed him.  So that didn't work.  

I've been crafting like mad for Christmas.  Our Christmas present budget is about 23 cents total, so everyone is going to receive lovingly glued together popsicle stick ashtrays and whatnot.  I am even attempting to quilt.  I bought a beginner's quilt kit, so its kind of ugly from the start.  It has snowmen on it.  I'm just telling you now, so that when you open the box on Christmas morning you are prepared.

And, on that note, I am off to buy the ingredients for mantus (Afghan lamb dumplings).  I am crashing my mom's book discussion of the Kite Runner, and I feel I need to bring some food.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook