tuscan raiders

2005-08-26

Leo won a free dinner at �Brio Tuscan Grille� at some golf tournament. So off we go tonight. I am quite thankful to have my dinner prepared for me. Really I am. So thankful, that I found the menu online, so I can be thinking about it all day.

Now, I don�t really expect authenticity at a chain restaurant in the mall. And I am certainly not an authority on what is and what is not authentically Tuscan. But �Tuscan Mashed Potatoes�? Grilled Asparagus at this time of the year (and probably year �round)? It looks like the menu of every Italian-American restaurant I�ve ever been to. Will it be good? Probably. But why pretend that it is �Tuscan�? So that it lures in all the women of a certain age that read the Frances Mayes book or - worse still - saw the movie.

We had a different sort of problem at a truly lovely Italian restaurant that we went to last week - Trattoria Stella in Traverse City. Authenticity aside, it was lovely (and, with their emphasis on fresh and locally sourced ingredients, I�d say it did pretty good on authenticity too). But the large group we were with ordered in the American style (of the 4 courses offered, most people only took 2 or 3 of them, and not the same 2 or 3). Also, everyone ordered individually. So the dinner seemed to take forever.

On a totally different subject, I really really want a hotsling. But I�m stuck on whether or not I have to get a boy appropriate print. I mean, I am a girl and I am the one wearing it. But if I carry Owen about in a floral sling, will everyone assume he�s a girl? Of the non-florals, the Manchester appeals to me. So does the tattoo print, but maybe that�s too bad ass for me at present. I would get just plain black, but the last time I did that the sling turned out to be a lint magnet.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook