5 months

2005-08-02

Owen was 5 months old yesterday. 5 months!?!?! Where has the time gone? That means that only five months ago, I sat in a cubicle. I got to work, 40 minutes away, by 7:30 am. I don�t even wake up by 7:30 nowadays. I had business cards and a fax number. My wardrobe was business casual and I did not walk around with permanent drool/spit up marks on my shoulder (like mommy epaulets). It seems like it was another person.

And already Owen has grown so much. I have a huge plastic trunk full of the clothes that no longer fit. And a big box of too-small diapers. I folded his baby swing up yesterday and put it downstairs, next to the bassinet.

According to my online mom�s group, most babies are working on pre-crawling now. Owen still wants nothing to do with being on his stomach. Not so much that he�ll repeat his only rollover. But enough to verbally complain. Instead, he wants to stand at every opportunity. He�ll even walk sometimes if I hold him up by his arms. He goes nuts on the Jumperoo now too (just a few weeks ago, he was too short for setting 1, now it�s on 2).

I sucked out as a mom last night. I put Owen in his comfy cozy terry sleeper for bed. Then he woke up at 12, 12:30, 1, 1:30 and 2. That was rough. It was actually worse that I cut about 3 minutes of sleep between wakings. Anyway, turns out he was too hot. I dressed him in a t-shirt and shorts and he slept for the next 3 hours. Sorry bud.

I guess the bridal shower I catered was well received, as I�ve been contacted about doing some more. I think that appeals to me more than teaching an IT audit class.

I�ve been singing around the house a lot lately. I alternated between Pimpin All Over the World and the Sesame Street theme song in Spanish. I didn�t say it made sense.

-----

"Dear Tom Cruise, Your lack of belief in the existence of clinical depression tells me one thing: you didn�t spend $10 to see War Of The Worlds. If vitamins can possibly help me out of this spiraling funk, please let me know which ones. Dinos? Pebbles? Freds? Please, I�m crying out for help." - Alton Brown, Food Network host of Good Eats

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook