$10/hour

2005-07-25

I catered a 35 person tea party bridal shower on Saturday. It was a bit stressful because I had a cold, so I was pretty rundown. The menu was:

    Date and Walnut Bread Sandwiches (I cut them out in a flower shape) with Cream Cheese Filling

    Plain, Current, and Sultana Scones with Clotted Cream and Strawberry Preserves

    Boursin and Cucumber Triangles (I cut the cucumber lengthwise on a mandolin and laid them over the cheese so it looked stripe-y).

    Pate a Choux filled with Dried Cherry Chicken Salad (it�s been a while since I made pate a choux. The first time around I piped them too small so I had to make two batches)

    Roasted Red Pepper Hummus (which I made from scratch and later found I could buy pre-made at Whole Foods, good thing I spent an hour peeling those peppers) Triangles (I cut out little flowers from some peppers to garnish them and used a caper as a center)

    Grilled Ham and Cheese with Mango Chutney


It really took a lot out of me. And I made $10 an hour (which Leo points out is about what I�d make at McDonald�s).

I�m feeling better today. And so is Owen. Thank Goodness.

Better get going before the boy wakes�

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook