assuming the position

2005-01-28

In case you are wondering where I've been....

I have a cold. Things were slow at work, it was the usual 95 degrees in the office, I didn't have much to do...so I ditched work on Thursday. Once I got home, I called my mom to see if she had some shoes I could borrow. My brand new, size and a half larger than normal shoes no longer fit. If my feet continue to expand at this rate, they could take over Wayne county by next weekend. Even more disgusting, they mold to whatever shaped container I stuff them into. So the mary janes that I bought left a huge indentation in the tops of my feet.

So I was hoping that mom owned some velcro sandals or something. Because, if she didn't, my next stop was a medical supply place to buy some special diabetic people shoes. Mom was strangely disturbed by the whole foot problem. She suggested that I call my midwife. Hmmm, that hadn't occurred to me. So I did. She asked me to come in. I ended up waiting to see her for about an hour before hand. During the wait, a 3 year old decided that she needed to read me a story in the waiting room. I haven't read "There was an Old Lady who Swallowed a Fly" recently, so it was a not too unpleasant way to pass the time.

The midwife is training another midwife right now; she's an RN that just graduated from U of M. I really like her and I guess she'll be attending my birth. I decided to come clean with them about all of my health issues (I don't know why, but I have only told my chiropractor about the numb hands). So I was put on a low-salt diet for the swelling. Plus I need to lay on my left side and have my feet elevated for most of the day. And then they discovered that Owen, who has been in the perfect position for months now, is breech. So I was given a xeroxed handout of all these crazy yoga-like positions I'm supposed to assume to get him to move. I still don't really get how that jives with the left side laying positions. I've spent most of the day writhing around on the bed, doing my own one woman show of Cirque de Soleil. I also need to buy wrist braces, but I can't figure out where to go to get them. Oh and the midwives also said that I'm to eat a bunch of celery. They probably just threw that one in there so they could go back to their office and laugh at that thought of me doing yoga while eating a bunch of celery.

On top of everything else, I have no kitchen. None. Leo successfully demolished the old one (and without hurting himself) and now he's installing the new one. We found out last night that we'd screwed up the measurements when ordering so the cabinets we have (which had to come from Chicago) don't fit. Luckily Leo figured out how to rearrange the ones we have to minimize the number we'd have to buy. No telling how long it will take to get the new ones in. Eating take out (because I certainly can't cook without a kitchen) and following a low sodium diet are really hard to do. I don't really even know what is low sodium and what isn't.

Leo just yelled at me for 1) sitting up and 2) typing. So I'll be in the bedroom doing downward facing dog while eating celery, if you need me.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook