just a little to the left of the line between ridiculous and sad

2004-12-16

I have nothing to do today at work. Nothing. I hate that almost as much as when I have too much to do. So the day is going by very, very slowly.

I met up with some former coworkers last night. Most did not even know that I got knocked up, so that was fun surprising them. We met at Mongolian BBQ, a restaurant which never ceases to irk me. I mean, there is never a time when I want to pay $13 for a single bowl of crap I had to stand in line to assemble myself, wait for some sweaty rocker kid to cook, get yelled at because I put the sauce on too early and then walk back to my table to eat said slop. If I wanted to cook, I'd be home.

I understand the whole "Mongolian" concept of Soviet lines meets quasi-Asian food, but I just don't get the appeal.

Also irritating was the parking situation. It took me FIFTEEN minutes to find a spot. This is Dearborn, Michigan people. Not Manhattan. What gives? I had to park across Michigan Avenue and CROSS THE STREET. I don't think I've ever walked on Michigan Avenue before. I didn't even know it was possible to BE a pedestrian on Michigan Avenue. The problem stems from all sorts of "development". I blame this place in particular. Since when is Dearborn hip? And isn't Crave located next to Dearborn Wig and Cellular? I want my frumpy little free parking town back. There is also a place across the street from Crave that advertised as being a day spa with gynecological services. I shiver in fright.

I guess things are so bad that Dearborn will soon charge for parking. And they are building a parking structure which, being more than two stories tall, towers over downtown Dearborn. 50 cents an hour? What next? Soon they will be charging $20 admission to see the historical apple corer at the Commandant's Quarters.

I got a part-tay to go to tonight. It's a work Christmas party. Jealous? Check out the invited departments:

CORP. ACCOUNTING / FINANCE
TAX / M & A
TREASURY / COLLECTIONS
GLOBAL SYSTEMS / LEGAL
CORP. COMMUNICATIONS
INVESTOR RELATIONS
SHARED SERVICES / PAYROLL
INTERNAL AUDIT
FINANCIAL SERVICES

That's right, people. Its time to party with those crazy bastards in collections. But wait, there's more! The invite that was sent out was done in Excel! A spreadsheet invitation! In all CAPS!

It's a party of such magnitude that we have each been issued a wristband. And - I'm not making this up - it says this at the bottom of the invitation:
"TAXI CABS AVAILABLE IF YOU PARTY TO HARDY"

Yeah.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook