this crazy looking cherry-sized alien in my innards has impeded all of my mental processes

2004-07-19

I cannot concentrate to save my life. It's really becoming an issue.

We had a lovely and fairly uneventful weekend. Leo's sister was in town so we went out with his family on Saturday. Leo's 13 year old sister wore a blazer and pearls. It made me feel strangely old and disheveled. I haven't really gained any weight, but the shape of my body has changed so that nothing really fits me right.

Have I mentioned that I have the attention span of a gnat? Wow, I'm even too tired to blather on.

Here's a PG update:

WHAT'S HAPPENING WITH YOU

Are you feeling a bit bloated? Indigestion and bloating are common complaints of pregnancy. A slowed digestive process causes these symptoms and allows your bloodstream to better absorb nutrients that are then passed on to your baby. You may find relief from wearing loose-fitting clothes, eating small, frequent meals, chewing your food thoroughly and avoiding high fat foods.

No matter how uncomfortable these sensations are for you, rest assured that your baby is oblivious to your pain. As long as it doesn't

affect your ability to eat healthy meals, your discomfort may be a nuisance, but it is harmless.

Great, I feel like a science experiment.

WHAT'S HAPPENING WITH YOUR BABY

Your baby's head is quite big, due to the rapid growth of the brain. The upper limbs resemble paddles. Your baby-to-be's heart begins to separate into four chambers, and blood is circulating throughout the body. Intestines form within the umbilical cord, but will later migrate back into the abdominal cavity. In the next few days, foot plates, with the beginnings of toe rays, will appear. The external ears are now present. Your baby is now 10 to 13 millimeters long -- about the size of a cherry. The cells that will become either testes or ovaries arrive, but there is no obvious sign of gender yet. Muscle contractions are beginning, but these early "movements" are not yet perceptible.

Adorable, eh?

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook