thinking about the end of many things

2004-05-25

New Page 1
I've never met my "counterpart" in Spain.� I speak to him several times a week.� He is always really hyper, and he sounds pretty young.� I had made up a face for him; I felt like I really knew him.� Just now I saw a picture of him and he looks just like Eugene Levy.� That is not what I had been thinking he looked like.� Plus he keeps emailing me and adding "You are a mischievous girl", whatever that means.� Kinda creepy.
I have to take my certification test in two weeks!� I have not studied for it AT ALL.� The test is only offered once a year, so if I fail it, it won't be until next year that I can retake it.� And if I fail it, I'll have to pay for it ($500) out of my own pocket.� So I really need to get serious.� My boss is out today, so I told myself that I'd study today.� Instead I'm typing this...
I didn't watch Colonial House last night.� OK, I watched a little bit, but only during the commercials of what I was "really" watching.� The 8 or so minutes I watched still was enough to irritate me though.� Nothing specific.� Just irritating.
I'm going to La Shish tonight for dinner with mom.� I will NOT eat hummus and lamb, my usual, as I know it must have 10,000 calories.� I will order a feta fattoush salad.� Or maybe some lentil soup.� But I will NOT eat a whole plate of lamb and hummus.� At least that's my current plan.� They have a "low carb" menu, which irritates me in principle, but the meals on it are actually really good.�
It occurred to me the other day that it has been about five years since Mr. Pookums passed on (I mean, was�given a lethal injection�at the vet's).�


Mr. Pookums, 1982 - 1999
It has also been five years since Tony died.� That anniversary was last month.� I thought that I might write something about him, but I guess I'm not there yet.� It doesn't seem that long ago.� But Leo and I hadn't even had our first date yet when it happened.� And it seems like I've been dating Leo forever.�
So that depressing thought (about Tony being dead, not having�dated Leo for five years) led to almost an hour of looking up Tony's friends online.� I didn't really find anything interesting though.� Oh how I wish that reunions happened for things other than high school!� Actually, I'm sure I'd be ridiculed out of the room if there was some sort of Detroit punk scene 1990 - 1996 reunion.� But I must not be the only person to have "gone straight" and got a real job, right?� RIGHT?
(BTW, is there anything more annoying than websites that want you to "click to enter" or people who spell cool any way other than c-o-o-l?)
Speaking of people who have passed away (how on earth did I get on this tangent), I will be eating some ham for lunch that Leo's grandfather made.� I found a huge amount of Easter leftovers in the freezer, so I defrosted them over the weekend.� It's kind of weird to think that the man who fixed this ham is now dead but I'm having it for lunch today.
OK, I need to stop googlestalking and go back to studying.�
Oh, I just thought of another anniversary.� I got the tattoo on my lower back 8 years ago Monday.� It's the tattoo that is the hardest to remove, the others are almost gone.� This one is still pretty visible and blotchy, but its the easiest to hide place of any of them.
OK, back to the books.

<< - >>

1 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook