Germany's most secret virgin attractions

2004-04-22

"Whoever wants to enjoy Germany's most secret virgin attractions must go to Franconia".

This poetic declaration of love was written by the poet and narrator
Karl Leberecht Immermann more than 150 years ago. No one has since been able to describe this holiday landscape better than him:

"
Franconia is like a magic cupboard; new drawers keep opening to reveal colourful sparkling gems, and it never ends".
 
And thus starts the only travel narrative that I have been able to find on Kronach, Germany.  I have been ordered to audit one of our locations there this summer.  Of course, I don't speak any German beyond what I learned that one year in high school (I can sing "Ich habe Hunger" and "Der Schnizelbank" but I doubt these skills will come into play).

It gets worse.  While I will be there, the city is putting on something called a "Faust-Festspiele" which Google translated as a "Fist Festival".  I have no idea what that means, but I know that I don't want to go to it.  Do you think it means that the entire town celebrates fist fights?  Or perhaps it's something even worse?  

Before I go off to find out more about Franconia's magic cupboard, let me give a shout out to Shanono on her birthday.  To the first of many 29th birthdays to come!

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook