another sweping opinion on something I know little about

2003-06-23

Supposedly the supreme court's rationale for upholding the affirmative action admission policy's of U of M law school is to make sure that the "leaders of tomorrow" are taken from all segments of society.  However you might feel about affirmative action, this decision proves one thing:  the self-importance of lawyers. 

Not all lawyers are self important, Leo, in fact, is rather self-deprecating and there are plenty perfectly nice lawyers (Dante, Larry, Sarah, etc.).  But I have also met a lot of lawyers that believe that the sun rises and sets at their command.  And really, what have lawyers done for society?  They've sued a bunch of people.  I suppose that many of those people deserved to get sued, but isn't it really lawyers fault that we live in a viciously litigious society where every tiny transaction requires reams of waivers and regular people refuse to perform life saving CPR because they are afraid of the legal consequences? 

I'm pretty sure that my high school civics class outlined the duty of the supreme court is to determine the constitutionality of laws, not to socially engineer the nation.  If it is primarily concerned with guiding society to it's idea of utopia, than let's kick the self-important lawyers out and have the supreme court made up of regular American Joes (and Janes) so that we can decide where we should be as a society.


I had to write a paper for my Spanish class on "Like Water for Chocolate".  I had always thought that the title meant like substituting water for chocolate in a recipe, because the main character's life is so bland and "flavorless" (like water) when it could have been rich (like chocolate).  But I just read an analysis of the book that says it means in the way water is prepared for hot chocolate (at the boiling point)


The anniversary party was a success.  I learned two things:

  • I am not physically able to be on my feet for fifteen and a half hours straight without a lot of pain the next day
  • old people drink a lot

I ended up bartending for a while.  The guests were mostly in their late sixties and seventies and they were all drinking things like an eight ounce glass of vodka with some ice in it.  I've never known anyone who simply wanted a glass of straight booze, but it seemed to be very popular.  Maybe, once you have reached a certain age, you just don't want to mess around with mixers.

 

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook