confusion and drunkeness in Boston

2002-09-09

Well, we're back from Boston. I believe that this completes our summer touring season.

We spent Saturday morning in the MFA, which is great but way too expensive ($13 each for admission, they wanted $20 to see the special exhibit). From there, we went on to Boston College, which was the purpose of our trip. BC does not sell beer at the football game, so we bought a six pack and drank it in the parking lot. We had split a bottle of wine at lunch, so I was just about cross-eyed by the time the game started.

If you have a pet, you may have wondered what they see when they watch television. I know, because that's what I see when I watch sports. I grew up in a sports free household, so I am completely unfamiliar with the rules of every sport beyond figure skating (which doesn't really have any rules any way). It didn't help that I was rather drunk at the onset of the game. The only thing that registered was that the people kept running around and falling down. Also, there were gigantic Ichibod markers from Picture Pages on the field. The most important thing I realized early on is that the seafood chowder that I had been promised was not available.

The first three and a half hours went by uneventfully. There was running, throwing, catching and falling in constant succession. The last half an hour of the game was indeed exciting as it was tied up until the last moment. I had figured out a certain pattern to the madness and entertained myself by testing these. Then BC won.

It was after the game that I realized the devastating mistake I had made by falling in love and agreeing to marry someone who is never hungry. It's not that he has never been without a meal, he's just one of those frustrating people who's brain has never signaled for food. He also loves to walk everywhere. So most of the trip was punctuated by long hikes up and down hills on an empty stomach. I also got to say things like "don't you think 10 pm is a little late for dinner?" and "Leo, I am going to pass out right this minute if I don't get lunch".

Saturday night we walked 20 blocks to a Moroccan restaurant. The food was great. The only employees were the owner and a 15 year old girl. The owner acted as waiter, chef and culinary policeman for the 12 table restaurant. Some guy behind us dared to ask for salt and the whole room received a lecture on the price of salt in America and how all Americans insist on over salting their food. Funny thing is, the guy was British. We ended up having to fake an illness to get the check and leave.

Sunday's highlights include being told "not to hawden our hawts against the Lord" in church and seeing an old-school parish parade. We were in the Italian section of town, and the parish band paraded around with a statue covered in dollar bills.

Leo started work today. For the first time in 5 years (probably even longer than that), I am dating a permanently employed person.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook