we don't eat library books!

2005-10-17

Last week, Owen and I woke up at 5am three days in a row to serve breakfast at a homeless shelter.  It was a great experience; everyone loved the baby and he certainly loved the attention.  I wasn't thrilled with the early mornings, but it wasn't that bad.  It seems impossible to think I used to wake up at 5:30 for work.  It was so sad to see that about 3/4 of the homeless people there have regular jobs, they just can't make ends meet.

I've given up on Owen ever eating baby food.  I had it in my head that he'd need to start out on watery bland rice cereal, then move up to mushed squash and such.  Instead he went straight to table food.   He had whole green beans the other day and he actually cried when Leo tried to remove them from his hands.  Last night he had meatloaf and potatoes, zucchini and and a tomato.  It's a heck of a lot easier than spooning food in his mouth, although he does get stuff everywhere.  

What else?  I think we'll have to stop checking board books out from the library because Owen is hell bent on eating them.  I think I've said "we don't eat library books" about a thousand times today already.

Remember when I had a life beyond baby stuff?  Me neither.  Well, there is one other "subject" in my life and that's church.  But if you think the baby stuff is boring...

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook