Lebanese sushi

2005-04-28

I had thought that the Lebanese quesadilla at La Shish was the funniest menu item I'd ever seen at a Middle Eastern restaurant. Funnier than the Lebanese salsa, even. Then Sara and I went out to a Lebanese place for lunch yesterday, and they had sushi on the menu. You could have fattoush, schwarma, and...tuna rolls. Frightening. And, speaking of frightening, the restaurant also had a gold lame covered stage and a disco ball. I am so going back on Saturday night.

I was so happy when Owen was 6 weeks old because I felt like I had finally gotten the whole stay-at-home-mom thing down. At 8 weeks, my floors are scrubbed, dishes clean, shirts ironed and I turned my attention to reorganizing the cookbook room. Before we moved, my cooking magazines were nicely organized by month. Somehow their order got all jumbled and I have - somehow - survived two solid years by scanning the spines of the entire collection when I'm looking for something. Can you believe? Anyhoo, I got them all sorted out. I even weeded out some things, like Kitchen Garden, Food Arts, and Pastry Art and Design. The first is really more of a gardening magazine, and I have a rep for killing all plants so I doubt I'll ever want to refer back to it. The latter two are meant for professionals. I used to think that meant that the recipes in them were somehow harder. And maybe they are, in a sense. But usually the recipes are just terribly complex and have many components. They're for things that make sense to make in quantity. So out they went. I kept the Cooking Lights, even though there's way too much diet talk and not enough recipes. They might go in the next reorg.

It was truly a jaunt down memory lane to go through the magazines. I usually flag the recipes I'm planning on using for a dinner party. There were all sorts of parties that I had forgotten about until yesterday. I'm currently working on Mother's Day brunch. At first I was thinking Georgian (as in Republic of, not the state) but Schwest talked me down. Now it is Provencal. It has to be low fat (Leo's dad has already had a bypass), low carb (for my mom), and pork-free (Schwest). So maybe I can make up some kind of low fat aioli for starters. I'm thinking about doing some sort of leg of lamb, then maybe individual gruyere souffl�s with crab, an eggplant and red pepper tian, asparagus with chevre and bacon, and then a lemon tart and flourless chocolate cake to finish. I have Schwest's ice cream maker, and I'd really like to use it. Maybe, instead of a raspberry coulis, I could make some sorbet to go with the cake. Or I have a recipe for a lavender sorbet, that would go well with fruit. Gosh, I love planning this stuff. And I am so jazzed about my first Mother's Day as a mom.

Leo just called to suggest that we take Owen to his first baseball game on Tuesday. It will be my fourth. I went to one Tiger's game as a child, once with Leo's previous firm when he was interning, once to a minor league game on a business trip and now this. As you can see, I am quite a fan. Leo doesn't like baseball either, so a good time should be had by all.

I guess I should shower if I'm really going to go volunteer at the retirement home bingo game.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook