I'd rather be...

2005-03-31

Well let's see...

Leo decided that we had to get wood floors installed before the baptism this weekend, so my house is completely torn up. And it won't be totally done by this weekend. But I saw that coming a mile away. Anyway, we'll have to put all of the furniture back on Saturday. And I'll cook lunch for 25 or so too. Oh and Raj will be staying with us also. No big whoop.

I think I got all of 4 hours of sleep two nights ago. I hadn't realized how tired I was until I went to the grocery store and felt like I was hallucinating. There are some weird people at the grocery store during the day. I trailed this mom and daughter through the aisles. The mom was obviously on some sort of anti-depressants. She had a freaky perma-grin on that didn't involve her eyes. And she'd talk baby talk even when she was out of earshot of her daughter ("MOM-MY is going to get a DE-LISH-OUS lemon for us to have with our FISH"). The daughter, who was about 18 months, spent the whole trip liking the handlebar of the cart. It was really depressing (please, God, don't let me become that woman). Then there were a bunch of really angry old people too. I miss haggard business folks. I really do.

Last night I met up with some moms from a bulletin board I frequent. It was so nice just to get out of the house. We met at a very well lit restaurant with big plate glass windows that overlook Main Street in Royal Oak. I was still so tired that I hadn't really thought ahead to what I was going to do about feeding Owen. He's never been hungry in public before, I guess I thought he'd just sleep through the whole event. He didn't. So I fed him right there. And absolutely no one looked at me (I was facing a table of 20-something guys, too). I was wearing a nursing shirt, so it wasn't really ballsy at all, but it was my public nursing debut. Glad it went well.

Speaking of nursing, I was given a bumper sticker that says "I'd rather be breastfeeding". There might be a time in my life when I feel that way (like when I have older kids and can look back on this time fondly) but for now I think it would be more accurate to say "I'd rather be sleeping". Still, the thought of putting that on Leo's car has kept me amused all morning.

I'll be happy when the baptism is over. There were just so many logistics to figure out that it became a little stressful.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook