many departures

2004-11-05

Well, Raj got fired last night. I have to credit him with the best Apprentice exit ever, though. I screamed when he asked the receptionist for her number. What will the show be like without him? Boring, that's what. Send your complaints to NBC.  And don't worry, something tells me we haven't seen the last of him.

I'm at the arithmetic portion of my Thanksgiving prep. And there is a lot of it. So if you need 2 tablespoons butter,1 stick chilled unsalted butter, 1/4 cup unsalted butter and 14 tablespoons butter, how much butter should you buy? The answer is 2 pounds. Or, at least, that's what my hormone-addled mind says. Do that for all 156 ingredients and you'll be in something similar to my current mental state.  Oh, and I'm buying salted butter.  Unsalted is for the birds and pastry snobs.

Wanna hear the menu? Of course you do.

 Amuse Bouche � Mixed Mushroom Tart with White Truffle Foam, Leaf-Shaped Cheese and Crackers for the kids

Salad with Pears, Spiced Pecans, and Balsamic Vinaigrette in a Parmesan Basket

Corn Pudding
Scalloped Oysters
Cornbread and Pecan Stuffing
Molasses Brined Turkey
Gingersnap Gravy
Sweet Potato Surprise Balls (so trashy, so intriguing)
Jellied Cranberry Sauce (in a big ornate English jelly mold)
(Perfectly Normal) Mashed Potatoes
Roasted Fall Vegetables
Trio of Leaf-Shaped Fougasses:
    Gorgonzola and Walnut, Roasted Garlic, and Mixed Herb

 Maple Pecan Sticky Bars
 Pumpkin-Cranberry Bread

(not a formal dessert course really, just some snacks for the board game marathon that follows dinner)

I just looked at my company-made reservations for tomorrow. They booked me an aisle seat at the hotel. Hope there's a bed too. Otherwise it will be a long week. Oh, I'm off to Orlando tomorrow.  I haven't really heard from Wendy lately, but hopefully her and Olivia will be joining me.  I don't know if Olivia is ready for Disneyworld yet.  Maybe we'll do a character breakfast and then hang around the pool (I, of course, will be wearing a black knee-length skirt, its my official maternity swimsuit).  I can picture the three of us in lounge chairs, sipping virgin strawberry daiquiris already.

I'm bringing my computer, but I don't really know when you will next hear from me.  Probably soon.  Leo will join me on Thursday, and then we are going to meet up with Kevin and Deanna.  So I really only have three nights to myself.  I am so not mentally ready for this class, maybe I'll actually spend it studying.  Who knows.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook