crazy weekend

2004-10-18

I very seriously don't want to work. Not today, not ever. This is something of a problem, as I am at work.

Shannon and Daryl are in town and a bunch of us saw I Huckabees on Friday. The movie is we-ird (that's a two syllable weird) but I liked it. About ten minutes into the movie, 2 couples in their fifties walked past us and out of the theater. A few minutes later, Alicia pointed out that the chair in front of her was ON FIRE. I was sitting the farthest from the chair, and by the time I heard the story, I thought the middle-aged couples had set it on fire. I guess it was really more because of a loose wire or something. Shannon got to shout "FIRE!" in a crowded theater, possibly fulfilling a lifelong dream of hers. All 8 of us stood up, silently contemplated moving, looked at each other, shrugged, and then sat back down in unison. So maybe the fire was between us and the exit. We had paid $8 for that movie and nary a one of us was willing to take the 10 seconds required in moving away from that.

My sister-in-law's baby shower was on Saturday. There were about 60 people there, it took her an hour and a half to open presents. Lots and lots of STUFF. I used to be rather taken with STUFF as a whole, but I'm definitely anti-STUFF now and I hope I don't get even half as much as she did. Seeing as I am related to about 10 people in the world and she is related to 10,000, well, this probably won't be an issue. Leo's aunt got us a pair of Ralph Lauren leather baby deck shoes.  He can wear them when he is out sailing on his itty-bitty yacht. I bought Owen a tiny Hawaiian print swimsuit, so he can wear it with a dress shirt, just like his dad. 

What else?  We had super crappy weather all weekend.  I finally made soap for hte pregnant lady craft exchange that I'm participating in.  Almost none of the soap I made easily came out of the molds, though, so I'm not really done.  I made some tart shaped "Jam Tarts" soap.  I bought a scent called Plum Spice, kind of a Christmas fruit scent and it turned out pretty well.  I also used some glitter in the jewel shaped molds, and made some more tea tree oil frogs.  Oh, and I put together some lip glosses too. 

I have a parish council meeting tonight and Angry Popeye is scheduled to blow a gasket.  We hired a new organist a while back, and AP kept saying "but does he play the ORGAN?", as if we might hire a tambourine player by mistake.  Well the new organist's first day was yesterday, and on the last hymn he accompanied us on an Irish drum only.  AP probably had to be hospitalized.     

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook