I'll be in the parking lot if you need me

2004-07-13

I am so cold I can barely type.

My building is always either 15 degrees too warm or too cold. There is no in between. I've been told that the building was designed to house 1200 employees. Now there are nearly twice that here. All stuffed together tight in our little cubes (which, btw, have shrunk by a foot and a half on each side in the five years I've been here). So the company has found a way to blame the employees for the HVAC problems. Typical.

I have no idea why, but I bought a bucket of trail mix last night. I've probably eaten 12 pounds of it so far and it hasn't even been 24 hours yet. I really need to stop. Plus I am so tired. I'm sure that's more the after effects of a spike in blood sugar from trail mix consumption more than pregnancy. I'm thinking it might be time for another lunch time nap in the Rendezvous.

I'm having trouble working. Seriously, I can't concentrate on whatever it is that I'm doing when the internet is filled with preggo information that is infinitely more interesting than work. Can't management see that that is much more important than these stupid reports?

Have I mentioned that our Party for the President is day after tomorrow? Well, it is. I believe the whole point of this is to "network" with other Republicans, but since I know everyone who is coming I don't know how that's going to work. We've also been sent postcards to send out to our neighbors urging them to register to vote. There will also be a conference call with Laura Bush (or LB, as I call her) and an informational video. Plus it is the perfect excuse to serve BBQ beef.

Here's the menu:

Texas BBQ Beef Brisket

Pasta Salad with Spinach, Feta, and Olives

Gratin of Summer Squash, Zucchini and Tomato

Salad of Brined Cucumbers and Radishes

Strawberry-Vanilla Cupcakes (red, white...)

Blueberry Lemon Tart (...and blue! Are you feeling it?)

Lemonade

You might notice that trail mix is not on the menu. That is because I will have finished off the 20 pound bucket by then. OK, I think it's bed time. I'll be in the parking lot if you need me.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook