Ready to get my ham on

2004-06-25

Lucky for me, Canadian meat was so yucky that I haven't had any pork in weeks. Because I imagine that I will have more than enough ham in Germany.

That and outdoor theatrical festivals. It seems that I will have several to choose from.

We had a lovely dinner last night at City Cellar(s?). I hadn't been there before and I really liked it. I started off with a smoked gouda and greens salad with a white truffle oil dressing. It was topped with battered and fried asparagus, which was really good. Then I had a seafood "cassoulet". It was your usual cassolet, except there was no meat in it. That was surrounded by some smoked salmon (hot smoked, unfortunately), some mussels and some mixed seafood "cakes". The beans and the mussels were quite good.

Hopefully, I will see Leo tonight. I haven't spent even 10 minutes of real time with him since I got back from Canada. I leave tomorrow afternoon, so we'll have to connect before then.

I'm busy trying to learn all about German traffic signs and laws. You might think that they can't be that terribly different. I' glad I checked because I would have no idea what this sign* means.

Here's an excerpt of what I've been reading:

Most traffic signals in Germany are turned off at night. A flashing yellow traffic signal or a traffic signal with no lights operating indicate that the sign(s) posted next to the rightmost signal, or in the absence of such sign(s) the priority-road or default right-side priority rules, are in effect.

Um, ok. Right.

also:

Take the case of an uncontrolled "T" intersection of two equal roads. You might think traffic on the through street of the "T" would have priority. But, no, traffic on the right must be yielded to. (Left-turning vehicles, however, should always yield in this situation.) Moreover the proliferation of roadsigns is jarring increasingly on the evolving German sensibility and in turn there is a movement afoot to decrease signage, especially where it encroaches on the aesthetic appeal of a neighborhood. Thus increasingly the onus is on the individual driver to know his priority or lack thereof.

If it's proven that you gave a certain other driver the finger (Stinkefinger), you are subject to a EUR1125 fine! Tapping your forehead or passing your hand in front of your eyes is considered just as insulting! And a gesture of thumb and index finger circled together may be the worst, drawing as it does in Germany a simile with the least visible bodily orifice. (Though in France and Italy this gesture signifies excellence. Go figure.)

At least I'm not afraid of that last one.

Maybe it wasn't a good idea to try to figure this out ahead of time. It just makes me feel like I'll get into an accident.

Well, if you see another post before Tuesday, it will mean that I survived both the flight and the 30 step, 3 hour road trip.

* Priority road: A Vorfahrtstra�e is a road with priority right of way. Cars entering from crossroads must yield before entering a priority road. Since this sign indicates the END of the priority road, you no longer have an automatic right of way.

<< - >>

1 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook