assaulted by baked good smells

2004-05-05

I have baked four cakes in the last four days.� My house smells like a bakery.� I had weird baked good dreams because it smells so strongly of cake.� I am currently sitting in a cube with 2 cakes and 2 dozen cookies.� And I forgot to eat breakfast.� I've already snuck one cookie...

I also have chocolate on my shirt.� This is not good because I am supposed to meet with Legal and Treasury today.� I'm already wearing an untucked shirt, no suit, and now my stomach is covered in ganache.� Oh well, last day before vacation!

The baked goods are for a baby shower that I am throwing for a coworker.� I did my usual work related iron-ons on onesies and it turned out really well (my favorite is the "I love my daddy's coworkers" shirt).� I even did�a "perfect to 6�" hat.�

We leave tomorrow morning for New Mexico.� I can't wait.� I really need a break.� And it has been a really long time since we've had a family vacation (I think the last one was in 1995).� I'm so excited about learning to knit, and I love spending uninterrupted time with Leo.� It happens so rarely.

Once we get back, I'm likely to never see him again.� I will be traveling through the end of the summer.� There might be a break, though, as I'm finding that some of the plant people won't even be at their locations when I'm coming.� I'm not sure if it would be better to have periodic breaks in the traveling or to get it all over with at once.

I guess I won't update again until Tuesday, when I will be in beautiful Louisville, Kentucky.� Anyone have any restaurant or activity recommendations?� I think I've driven through Louisville before, but I'm not sure if I've ever really been there.

Those cookies smell sooooo good.

Oh!� Shannon and I are thinking of starting a book club.� Who's ready to join?� We couldn't come up with a book that neither of us have read so we completely crapped out and decided to read "The Heart is a Lonely Hunter" by Carson McCullers.� This is embarrassing only in that it is Oprah's book of the month.� But both Shannon and I have read other Oprah selections and, loathe as I am to admit it, I've liked most of them.�

There must be some web site that allows people to have virtual book clubs, right?� I'll have to go find one.� If not, we could always get a guestbook and use it as a discussion board.

I think I might grab just one more cookie....

<< - >>

3 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook