coasting into shut down

2003-12-09

I really don't know if I can hack seven more days of work. Because the auto industry universally shuts down for almost two weeks over Christmas, everyone starts getting a little antsy in mid-December. It's a good time to require the completion of projects and the submission of reports. So I have to finish almost everything on my plate. I'm not so good at finishing, I'm much better at starting things. The problem is that I'm usually bored to tears with something by the time it's due to be finished. Completing boring projects just makes me even more antsy to get out of here.

I had a makeup trial on Saturday. I really liked the woman who did it. But I hated the makeup. It was way too heavy. This is weird because 1) the makeup lady wasn't wearing any makeup herself and 2) I think I wear a lot of makeup already. Maybe I should have been suspicious that she wasn't wearing makeup. She put eye shadow underneath my eyes (never a good look) and the powder made my skin look really old and wrinkly. Plus she used black Morticia Addams eye shadow in the crease of my eyes. Oh, and brick red lipstick. Scary, scary, scary. Because I liked the woman, I really wanted to like the makeup. I stared into a mirror for about five minutes after she left before I washed my face. Maybe I'm just getting old and crotchety, but makeup is probably something better left to myself.

I met with the florist last night. The bridesmaid's bouquets are pomanders of boxwood with red berries and an ivory tassel (I feel kind of stupid repeating all this as I'm sure the only people who ever read this are my bridesmaid's who already have heard about this. But, as I am putting off my real work by doing this, I'll continue). The bouquets weigh a ton (I seriously think they weigh 25 lbs. each). My favorite part of this whole plan is that I am crafting topiary bases for them. I bought flower pots and silver spray paint on my lunch hour. Once the pots are metallic silver, I'm going to use plaster of paris to anchor a stick in each one (I bought moss to cover the plaster). At the reception, each pomander will be skewered on a stick, to make a topiary. There's a certain Day-to-Night Barbie aspect of this that I just love.

Sarah and I are spray tanning tonight. I'm a little nervous about that. But I have high hopes. I've used self tanner before, and it really makes my faded tattoos less noticeable. BTW, they still aren't gone yet and I've been getting lasered for over a year and a half. But they are really light. And I think I look thinner with darker skin (like how a black outfit is supposed to make you look ten pounds thinner).

Ugh. My boss just walked in and he wants a "status update". I really am ready for shut down.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook