word to your mother

2003-12-08

I left work on Friday to get my last premarital hair cut. I specifically told the lady "I don't want to loose and length, just cut the layers so it keeps its shape". Instead, she heard "please make me look like that spunky Katie Couric by cutting four inches off my hair". I didn't notice what was going on until it was too late. Don't get me wrong, I like the haircut. It's really not bad. I just didn't want really short hair for the wedding. But I'll live.

After the haircut, I went shopping to find a top for the dreaded semi-formal Christmas party. I kept seeing myself in a mirror out of the corner of my eye and thinking "who is that soccer mom?". I ended up finding a beaded top that didn't say Sopranos (it wasn't easy). It really didn't matter because the silver silk pants that I was all excited about wearing ended up shrinking to a pair of Peg Bundy capris at the cleaners. I found that out 10 minutes before walking out the door. So I threw on the long ball skirt I wore two years ago to the party. If I had a hat, I might have been mistaken for the Queen mother (may she rest in peace).

I was overwhelmingly showered with gifts on Saturday. Olga and Dante's mom threw a bridal shower to end all bridal showers. We had a lovely meal (I thought it was kind of funny that we had grilled chicken and ceasar salad because that is Leo's favorite and he, of course, wasn't invited). Olga made an egg nog mousse which rocked. And I received about 60% of the inventory of Bed Bath & Beyond. Not only do I now own one chafing dish, I own two! Leo dismissed everything as "cooking stuff" except for the Ritter sport bar that accompanied Sarah's gift. He took that for his own.

Now I am elbow deep in seating crises. T-W-E-L-V-E days to go. Unbelievable. At least I'm past the point where i might feel some guilty urge to diet. It's especially good as I ate a thousand bake sale cookies yesterday.

Oh, props to Schwest who got the job she's been waiting for forever.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook