happy hangover from Boston

2003-11-18

It's 2:30 in the morning and I am somewhere between drunk and hungover. The seminar I'm attending had a reception this afternoon. They announced that they would buy each participant three drinks in the hour long reception (I took that as a challenge). It could have been worse as I ordered wine, and I think it actually took me two hours to consume the wine. But it was on an empty stomach...

My hotel room is amazing. I'm near the top floor of the 30 story hotel. The bedroom portion of my suite has floor to ceiling windows. The view is breathtaking. I drank my coffee this morning and watched the sunrise. The shower has two heads. It was quite a shock this morning to find this out; I got smacked in the back of the head by a very cold stream of water that I did not expect. Still, it was completely over the top and wonderful (imagine a car wash for humans).

I barely had 48 hours at home this weekend. The most exciting development is that God raked our yard while I was gone (this is the first time that I can recall that the Almighty did household chores on my behalf). We had a good six inches of leaves all over our yard when I took off for St . Louis. I kept meaning to rake them but never got around to it. Then there was a wind storm last week and all of our leaves were quite neatly deposited in the Mormon church parking lot next door. What's so incredible about this is that no other house on my street has been swept clear of leaves. And it's not like just some of the leaves were blown away; every single leaf was removed from our lawn like a gigantic vacuum came through.

Blech. I feel horrid. Today will not be fun. I get to discuss international technology auditing standards for a full eight hours (hungover). After the reception, a coworker and I decided to get food. I had made all sorts of culinary plans for Boston, but I was pretty much restricted to a restaurant I was able to stumble to last night. So we ate at the Cheesecake Factory. We split two appetizers and then each had a pieces of cheesecake. I feel like I have eaten a tub of butter flavor Crisco.

The only other thing I can think to complain about is the humidity level here. It is very, very dry. So dry that my hair is standing up on end like I have my hand on one of those crazy electromagnetic ball things that they always have at science museums (What are those things called?). Also, before I gave up on sleep tonight, I was lazing back in forth in bed to watch all of the electromagnetic sparks created between the blanket and the sheet.

I think I'll go back to bed now. The greatest dissuasion to my ever becoming an alcoholic is that I can never sleep if I go to bed drunk. Alcohol always makes me very sleepy, but once it wears off I am always wide awake. And my stomach still hurts from the cheesecake.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook