thirty is looming above me like a big, black cloud

2003-11-07

It's less than two months until my thirtieth birthday.

I've been subconsciously easing myself into being 30. I've caught myself saying things about being "just shy of thirty" and I told a waitress who told us that she had to card everyone under 30, that I just barely made that qualification (and then she told me that she thought I was 24, and I nearly kissed her).

I got really depressed when I turned 25. I felt as if I'd rounded a corner and was then on the "serious side" of my twenties. I don't really feel that sense of dread now; it's more of a sense of awe that I am really that old. If I ever pictured myself at 30 as a child (and I don't think I ever did), I probably would have thought that I'd be married and have kids. I will have been married two weeks and I'm pretty sure that doesn't give us time to have children before the big day. Not that I regret that at all. I think I just would have always pictured people of that age to have kids. 30 is, after all, a very respectable "adult" age.

We are going to a club tonight. I asked a 22 year old that I work with if he had ever been there. I mentioned something about hoping that I can stay up late enough and he stopped me and wanted to know why I am always making myself out to be older than I am. I guess I have been. Still, we have all discussed the possible need for a pre-outing nap. I don't think 22 year olds need to nap before going out.

I'm so thankful that I have Wendy, who is a month older than I am. She always approaches each year with anticipation, like I did when I was a kid. I'm glad that I have her going a head of me.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook