Hi Ho the Dairy-o, Here Comes the Bride!

2003-10-27

I had a really good weekend. Which pretty much means that I was not terribly productive.

We went to Olga�s birthday party on Friday. I managed to eat chocolate cake and a basket of french fries for dinner. So healthy. Plus a couple of raspberry vodkas with tonic (which goes quite well with the chocolate cake but not the french fries). We saw the deer on the way back to HQ, and ended up talking for some time.

I woke up refreshingly not hung over (I only had two drinks the night before) but rather tired as we were up late. I picked up my dress from the seamstress. She complemented me on my new bridal shoes; they look really wonderful with the dress. Then I went off to the organist�s house. She lives in Rochester Hills, which is at the absolute end of the earth.

There was another couple at the organist�s house, they were just finishing up. Seeing that a groom had attended the meeting, I was jealous for about five seconds that my groom is completely uninvolved in the planning process. But then I really thought about what it would be like if he was involved. It certainly wouldn�t free up any time for me. I am way too type A to let someone else handle this on their own. And, while I certainly can�t say that I enjoy every moment of this, I certainly don�t despise it as much as Leo would.

The organist played out several selections on the piano. It was kind of like a trip to the optometrist (�do you like A, or is B better?�). When she played the bridal march, I got a little misty. If I can just get down the aisle in one piece, I will be ok. I am really dreading that part. While I am certainly not shy, I am still not ready for over 200 people to stand up, turn around, and look at me when I walk in. Plus there�s the emotion in the music. Maybe I should have chosen something other than the Bridal March. Like the Farmer in the Dell. That doesn�t make me cry. Hi Ho the Dairy-o, Here Comes the Bride!

I got lost coming back from RH. It�s so frustrating when state routes don�t follow a named road exactly. So I got to tool around the bowels of Pontiac for an hour.

I accompanied Shannon to review a restaurant on Saturday. The food was pretty good and it is always so nice to go to a restaurant when I�ve never been there before. Shannon was driving so, when we split a bottle of wine, I ended up with more than my fair share. Then we sat at the bar to talk to an acquaintance who is the bartender there. Well, he bought me a drink and then there was another and, well, I got a little sauced on Saturday. Which allowed me just enough mental power to assemble the invitations on Sunday. Shannon has now put in over 8 hours on the invitations which has to be the worst part of wedding prep. For example, I was using a glue gun for over two hours and I�m not even done with that yet.


This was sent to me because I�m on the Monolithic Dome Mailing list. A Monolithic Dome is my dream home, which I may live in someday. It�s a concrete dome that is highly energy efficient (very low heating and almost no cooling bills) plus the interior walls are not load bearing, so you can configure it any which way. Anyway, this is the company owner�s granddaughter (who was legally adopted as their daughter). Check it out.

"Don't Cry Me a River, Buy Me a Liver" is the slogan for a fund raising campaign to benefit our youngest daughter, Jamie South Cooper who is in need of a liver transplant. Jamie has Cystic Fibrosis and has always been remarkably healthy, for a child with her health challenges. The past few years, however, the disease has taken it's toll on her liver. Read More about Jamie and how you can help: http://www.monolithic.com/jamie/index.html

We appreciate your support and thank you in advance for any contributions.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook