a Peter Pan state of ageing denial

2003-10-16

I managed to run into not one but two classmates from high school today.

I ran into one woman while I was at the printers. I was convinced that the printers, who all appeared to have suffered horrible brain damage, would mess up my wedding invitations. But they didn�t. I�m really quite shocked. The invitations that I fell in love with were a whopping $6 a piece. That�s just crazy. So I purchased the essential items and printed the rest at Kinkos and they were $1.80 a piece (which I still think is too much for a stupid piece of paper, but at least we didn�t just email everyone � that was Leo�s suggestion). Anyway, back to high school class mates. She was there and she had a three month old daughter. I always feel weird when I run into people my age with children. I probably wouldn�t be in such a Peter Pan state of ageing denial if it wasn�t for my friends (I blame Dante especially). We�re all almost thirty and none of us have kids! In fact, most of us aren�t even married.

Next I decided to pick up lunch from my old debate partner�s restaurant. Actually, I wanted to go to that overpriced all soup restaurant, but I turned in the complete opposite direction of it and ended up at my old debate partner�s restaurant. It worked out just fine because the soup of the day was cabbage, which is one of my favorites (plus they have a really good reuban). Anyway, she�s pregnant with her third child. Yikes. She had twins the first time around, so it isn�t her third pregnancy. She made me feel better about the whole thing because she said she feels like she is just playacting at being a mom. In fact, she has no idea what she�s doing and she suspects that our parents were really much more prepared and mature than we are. I really feel like, the older I get, the less I know what I�m doing. So that helped.

I tried to wear my second pair of wedding shoes last night. They don�t fit either. I don�t know what I�m going to do (I might stop buying shoes online, actually). Don�t tell Leo that I have to buy another pair. He�ll flip. Argh! So wear do I find wedding shoes around here?

BTW, gingeryette, I am strangely jealous of your having met the Small Wonder woman. I know where George Preppard�s (Hannibal from the A Team) father is buried (in the graveyard near my mom�s house) but that�s as close to fame as I�ve been.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook