Lemon Zinger just ain't cuttin it today

2003-10-06

I had lunch with my new boss on Friday.  He tried to talk to me about sports and, after the twelfth time I had to say "I'm sorry, I don't know who that is", he finally caught on that I am clueless about sports and he changed the subject to travel.  He told me that he has a tough time in Europe with the food, but at least he always knows what he's eating, unlike Asia.  I thought that comment was pretty funny because one of the major reservations I had about taking this job was food and travel.  Only I was worried that I'd be stuck in a small town in Indiana with nothing but fried chicken and sausage gravy to eat.  I've been to facilities in town's with a population of less than 500.  It's rough on the business traveler.

There's a very real opportunity for me to transfer to Europe in the future.  It's something I'd really like to do in three years or so.  While most of our manufacturing facilities are in Eastern Europe, the corporate offices are in Paris, London and Munich.  Those are places I could live.


Cat with AIDS update:  Zareena has stopped eating.  Apparently the vet isn't totally sure it is FIV yet.  If it is, it can be transmitted if the infected cat sneezes in the face of  another cat.  Which is frightening.  I'm actually curious to know more, but I'd hate to start the lady off on another 45 minute monolog about her cat.  Plus, her coworkers are updated about four times a day, so I should know the full story soon.


Shannon and I watched Mommie Dearest last night.  Christina Crawford is such a big whiner.  True, parents should not beat their kids with wire hangers.  That was wrong.  True, her mom was something of an alcoholic.  Also wrong.  But her life wasn't that bad.  There are many, many people who have it far worse than her.  And those people don't feel compelled to smear their parents in tell-all movies. 

But it would have made one hell of a mini series.


I spent the weekend glued to the news, waiting for Roy updates.  For some unexplainable reason, I feel quite drawn to Siegfried and Roy.  It's strange, because I've never seen them live (the tickets were way out of my price range).  So let's all take a minute and pray for Roy's recovery.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook