Adios, programming. Hola, auditing.

2003-09-30

First, we have the depressing news:  There's a chance of snow tomorrow in Detroit.

Then, there's this which scares the bejesus out of me.  A child was taken away from it's parents for SIX YEARS because of suspected child abuse that was never proven.  I've known families whose lives have been ruined because of overzealous child protection workers.  I'm sure they do a lot of good, but they are also capable of a lot of harm, both to the child and the parents.

This (the Nigerian woman who was sentenced to death for having sex outside of marriage won on appeal) made me so happy.  But she only won because the law was not in place when the sex took place.  The man got off without even a forced apology.  Contrary to popular belief, I do try to be sensitive to other cultures and religions.   But this is wrong.  And, I should probably point out that Muslim moderates have also said that this is wrong. 


I bought my super-expensive, Schwester-funded mantilla last night.  I am so excited about it.  I should also admit to really liking to say the word "mantilla".  There is some discussion on the appropriateness of wearing the mantilla to the reception.  I figure that there will be no other day in my life when I will be able to appear in public wearing $200 of netting, so I'll wear it wherever I damn please.  But I'll probably take it off after dinner.  No one wants to see a gal getting her drink on while she's wearing a virginal veil.

In other news, my feet are too hot.  I'm wearing my wonderful 3 inch high black boots that I bought over the weekend.  My feet don't hurt, but they are way too hot. 


We had my going away lunch today.  We went to LaShish and were served gigantic flaming platters of meat.  It was wonderful.

Adios, programming.  Hola, auditing.

By the way...only 80 days to go 'til the wedding. 

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook