at least it's Friday

2003-09-19

New Page 1

I've had more meetings with my new boss. We're focusing on quantifying risk assessment, which is what I was going to do my doctoral thesis on (back when that was my big plan). We need to develop a tool (either an algorithm or maybe even an equation). This is SO much more interesting than my current job.

I also noticed that new boss has a large amount of nose hair.

It's a week and a half before I move to the management floor. Right now I'm on the manufacturing floor. The manufacturing IT group is the red headed step child of corporate IT. Corporate IT got beautiful new cubes, carpet, chairs, etc. We have desks that were literally manufactured before I was born. They don't have any holes for cord in them as they predate computers (just right for an IT group).

They are redoing the lights and ceiling in this area. For a week now, the drop ceiling has been without tiles. When I look up, I can see exposed I-beams, ducts and lots of wire. Then there is a much too bright fluorescent light right above my head. And I'm surrounded by boxes. I feel like I'm in a warehouse and I'm going to be interrogated by the mob and then beaten with a rubber hose. It's a great working atmosphere.

My coworkers keep teasing me about going to the management floor.

The most exciting thing in my life actually happened in someone else's life, which says a lot about how this week was. Shannon's boyfriend is coming from England to Detroit for all of the key moments: Thanksgiving, my wedding, Christmas, New Year's, my birthday... I bet he's excited about my birthday (seeing as we've never met and all).

I'm off to the AAUW book sale (that Vincent Price cookbook is MINE).

 

Want to see the menu for the reception? 

 

Too bad.

Salad Station

Mixed Greens with Fresh Spinach Leaves

Tomatoes, Cucumbers, Red Onions, Mushrooms, Cheddar Cheese,

Chickpeas, Beets, Carrots, Chopped Egg, Walnuts and Dried Cherries

Ranch, Herb Vinaigrette, Raspberry Vinaigrette, Olive Oil and Vinegar

Tomatoes and Buffalo Mozzarella with Fresh Basil and Balsamic Vinaigrette

Pasta Salad

Broccoli and Cheese Salad

 

Potato Bar

Whipped Potatoes, Garlic Whipped Potatoes, or Sweet Potatoes

Cheddar Cheese, Sour Cream, Chives, Onions and Marshmallows

Madeira Sauce and Gravy

 

 

Cold Poached Salmon with Dill Sauce

Roasted Turkey, Cranberry Sauce

Beef Tenderloin, Au Jus, and Horseradish

Silver Dollar Rolls

 

Croquembouche

Wedding Cake

Assorted Miniature Pastries

 

 

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook