Jive

2003-09-17

Twice this has happened to me:  my new boss stops by, we discuss things, and he has no idea what I'm saying.  I feel like those two guys in the movie Airplane who speak jive.  Apparently, everyone in my old department also spoke jive, but new boss is clueless. 

The only example that springs to mind is kind of a far out one, but it shows you what I'm up against.  For my new job, I will be moving to the third floor, which is where the CIO and all of the other top IT people sit.  In this crazy corporate world where having a desk that's one inch longer than your neighbors is ultimately important, this is a big deal.  So, I was saying something to a coworker in the presence of my new boss about "moving upstairs with all of the popular kids".  New boss had no idea what I was talking about.  I know its a bad example as it might not have been readily apparent to everyone that the "popular kids" are IT management (especially since most IT types have never in their lives been considered popular).  But that is what I'm up against.

The point is...I can be a little bombastic on occasions (I know its hard to believe).  I also tend to proclamate sweeping generalizations about people and things.  New boss is an accountant type (in fact he is an accountant).  Accountants are the only people lower on the corporate coolness scale than IT folk.  Maybe these generalizations go against the detail oriented and factual nature of my new boss.  In work, I also believe (especially with auditing) that I have to be factual and detail oriented.  So do I need to curb my personality in non-work things also?

While I'm on the subject of new boss, let me just get something off my chest here.  It drives me NUTS the way he abbreviates IT.  He uses I/T.  As if it's information divided by technology.   That almost makes me as angry as Microsoft insisting that internet be capitalized.  You don't capitalize any other information transmission source!

We are moving today.  So I'm dressed all scrubby.  I've been trying to look nicer and more professional at work lately, but not today.  So I find out this morning that my first staff meeting is - you guessed it - today.  I'm wearing pants that are both too large and too short.  I'm wearing clogs (well, they are like slip on sandals sorts of things).  I've been carrying boxes all morning.  SO GLAD I get to meet my new coworkers today.  Any bets on them all being in suits?

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook