take me back to June 1

2003-09-02

There were so many things that I DID NOT do this weekend, I don't even know where to start...

I did not tell Leo's mom about my first marriage.  I did, however, learn that the other situation that I was comparing mine too (in which she freaked out) was completely dissimilar from my own.  So, instead of her surely having a bad reaction...now I have no idea how she will react.

I did not scour my house.  I did finish up the bathroom and Leo built another bookshelf.  But my house is still kind of scuzzy looking.  We decided that we should shampoo the carpet on Friday night (I have such a social life) so it is still clean for the party.  Note to humanity: do not ever buy white carpeting (unless your last name is Liberace, Siegfried or Roy).

I DID attend Davidde's party.  And I had quite a bit of fun.  I even took a bunch of pictures (and it was quite strange that neither Dante nor Davidde had cameras about them).  I'll put them up when I get around to downloading them.


Like millions of children across America...I start school today.  And like those children, I do not want to go.  The class is at 5:30 on the other side of town, so I have no time for dinner.  And it lasts until 9:30.  And I don't remember anything in Spanish past hola. 

The only motivation I can find is that it may help me to order drinks in Cancun. 


I found the greatest mussels recipe - ever.

MOULES AU BEURRE D'ESCARGOTS

16 cloves garlic, peeled

1/2 bunch fresh parsley leaves
6 tablespoons unsalted butter
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1/2 cup white wine or 1/4 c Pernod
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
3 pounds black mussels, scrubbed and debearded

Preheat the broiler or preheat the oven to 475�F.

Place the garlic and parsley in a food processor and process until finely chopped. Add the butter, olive oil, wine, salt, and pepper and pulse until smooth. Scrape the mixture into a bowl.

Place the mussels in a large roasting pan and distribute dollops of the butter around the pan. If serving as a first course, cover tightly and place in the oven for 10 minutes, or until the mussels have opened.  If serving as hors d'oeuvres, leave the pan uncovered and cook for 10 minutes or until they have opened.

Divide the contents of the roasting pan among four soup or pasta bowls, discarding any mussels that have not opened. Serve immediately.

Makes 4 servings.
 


Before I forget:  ***** HI MEAGAN! *****

 

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook