the beetles have turned to extortion

2003-08-13

So...remember my infestation?

Of course you do.

So, guess how much it will cost to fix it.  Anyone?  Anyone?

$5000.00 plus another $2000 every 4 - 6 weeks until it goes away.  And if I do nothing?  I could lose the solid acre of pine forest that is my backyard.  The bugs would just eat all of the tree innards, and then all I would have left is the deafening grind of their little tree eating jaws and a big smelly pile of rotted wood.

I don't know what we are going to do.  BTW, the bugs now have their own website (aren't they sooo "today"). http://www.barkbeetles.org/


And speaking of things that make me angry, I just got this email:

To: All Campus Employees

From: Human Resources

RE: "Fast & Furious 2003 - All Campus Car, Truck, & Motorcycle Show"

As a reminder.... come out tomorrow to the central campus parking lot and join the fun!!! We have moved up the time and will be starting the festivities at 2:00 pm. There will be food, music, and over 50 cars and motorcycles to check out - including the Ford GT!!!! At 4:00 we will be awarding prizes to the participants who have the "best in show" for each of their categories.

IMPORTANTLY, tonight security will be roping off a very large section of the campus central parking lot for the outing. All employees will be required to move their cars by 9:00 pm this evening so that the area will be cleared by tomorrow.

My favorite part is how they are roping off a "very large section" of the parking lot.  I also like how they started the sentence with an adverb.  I can just imagine how "importantly" security will be roping off the parking lot.  Gee, it's not like we were going to use it to park or anything!  Several thousand people work on this "campus".  There's about three extra parking spots.  It is going to be parking lot hell tomorrow.

Plus, it's my feeling that, if I'm not working, I'd like to be home.  I do not want to be eating some cheap hotdog in the parking lot while looking at some stupid cars.  And I have no idea what the Ford GT is.


Maybe I'm just crabby because I forgot to make the intern a birthday cake until 5:30 this morning.  The cake wasn't too bad for being made while I was basically still asleep.  But it got the day off to a really rough start.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook