it's silly, but I'm quite proud

2003-08-11

Leo's brother Mike got married on Saturday.� The wedding took place in Alexandria and the reception was at a hunting lodge in Maryland that once belonged to Lord Baltimore. It was a lovely ceremony and the reception was really quite amazing.� The food was by far the best reception meal I've ever had and one of the best dinners.

I wore a light blue dress.� I had tried on several pairs of shoes with it, but black (the only color of shoe that I own) looked weird.� So, I set out to buy blue shoes, but I couldn't find any.� I ended up buying a pair of white satin sandals and painting my toenails blue.� I loved them (they're very J. Lo), but I knew that I could not wear spike heels for the entire day.� I was planning on coming back to the hotel, after the ceremony, and changing into more comfortable shoes.� I never got the chance.� I ended up going to the reception early, so I wore 3 inch spike heels for a total of 11 hours (and I even danced in them).

I consider this one of the major accomplishments of my life.� Did I mention that I didn't fall, even once?� I came of age in the era of the chunky heel.� I have never worn little spiky heels before.� I manage to trip, fall, etc. when I'm barefoot.� So it was a given that I'd wipe out in these shoes.� After the ceremony, the bride & groom left, then the parents, then the siblings (me among them).� Because Leo was in the wedding party, I walked down the highly polished stone aisle by myself, with the entire group of guests watching.� I figured that I would fall for sure at that point, seeing as it was the most dramatic.� But I didn't.

So, now that I've turned a lovely family milestone into a story about my footwear (am I not the most shallow person on Earth?), let me show you my shoe mug shots.� BTW, the side view picture makes my leg look gigantic, but it's not terribly easy to photograph a profile of a shoe (especially while it is still on) (and after a few glasses of wine).

The balls of my feet were swollen yesterday.�
But it was worth it.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook